PoliceCensus

Home / States / South Dakota / Division of Criminal Investigation

Division of Criminal Investigation

Other State Agency agency in Hughes, South Dakota, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1999.

ORI
SDDCI0000
Type
Other State Agency
County
Hughes
State
South Dakota (SD)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1999-01-01
Location
44.3661, -100.3464

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

52Sworn officers
147Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025521470—
2024531450—
2023491360—
2022491340—
2021521370—
2020491250—
2019531250—
2018491260—
2017511250—
2016521200—
2015511200—
2014481200—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Division of Criminal Investigation in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
20251200—
20249 of 1200—
20236 of 1200—
20225 of 1200—
2021Not reported
20201200—
20191200—
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
20251200—
20249 of 1200—
20236 of 1200—
20225 of 1200—
2021Not reported
20201200—
20191200—

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record SDDCI0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Division of Criminal Investigation, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025120
20249 of 120
20236 of 120
20225 of 120
2021Not reported
2020120
2019120

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record SDDCI0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Division of Criminal Investigation for 2013, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20131
20061
20032
20021
20011
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2001–2013
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native3
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record SDDCI0000.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Division of Criminal Investigation assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2009 and 2014. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet1
Other weapon2
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20090001
20121010
20140001

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Hughes

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record SDDCI0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.