PoliceCensus

Home / States / South Dakota / Aberdeen Police Department

Aberdeen Police Department

City agency in Brown, South Dakota, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2002.

ORI
SD0060100
Type
City
County
Brown
State
South Dakota (SD)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2002-08-01
Location
45.5893, -98.3522

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 27,791.

54Sworn officers
7Civilian staff
2.19Employees per 1,000 people
27,791Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202554727,7912.19
202455728,0042.21
202348828,1001.99
202252828,2062.13
202150928,3852.08
202049928,4942.04
201948928,8701.97
201844928,7131.85
201742928,8001.77
201645928,4981.89
201545928,2191.91
201443927,6291.88

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Aberdeen Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 12423173.8%
2025121188168.6%
202412775976.6%
20231214112588.7%
2022121047471.2%
2021121228065.6%
2020121529461.8%
2019121659658.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 121334634.6%
20251236713937.9%
20241239813032.7%
20231247816734.9%
20221244915434.3%
20211262418129.0%
2020124167718.5%
20191262910917.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record SD0060100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Aberdeen Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20265 of 12668
2025121,395
2024121,471
2023121,457
2022121,226
2021121,766
2020121,262
2019121,598

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record SD0060100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Aberdeen Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20241
20231
20223
20201
20161
20151
20141
20131
20111
20083
20071
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2007–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American6
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming3
Anti-Hispanic or Latino3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record SD0060100.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Aberdeen Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2005 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument4
Hands, fists or feet176
Other weapon21
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20050030
20060010
20070162
20080011
20090010
20100001
20110010
20130050
20141060
20150060
20160081
201700130
201800200
20190061
202010241
202100104
20221295
202300273
202401170
202500122

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$942,060Original acquisition value
2Line items received
2016–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$865,0002016-12-01
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground1$77,0602021-01-12

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Brown

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record SD0060100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.