PoliceCensus

Home / States / South Carolina / Denmark Police Department

Denmark Police Department

City agency in Bamberg, South Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1991.

ORI
SC0050200
Type
City
County
Bamberg
State
South Carolina (SC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1991-01-01
Location
33.3261, -81.1399

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2024, covering a population of 3,077.

4Sworn officers
1Civilian staff
1.62Employees per 1,000 people
3,077Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2024413,0771.62
2023513,0441.97
2022813,1242.88
2021612,8472.46
2020912,8763.48
20191012,9243.76
20161013,2743.36
2013923,4753.17
2012923,5623.09
2011923,5793.07
2010923,5383.11
2009912,9723.36

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Denmark Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 128225.0%
2025121317.7%
2024122015.0%
20231231825.8%
2022124300.0%
20211236513.9%
20201227725.9%
201912311548.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 1220315.0%
20251266913.6%
2024129244.3%
202312951212.6%
2022128533.5%
2021126822.9%
202012941516.0%
2019121342720.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record SC0050200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Denmark Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 1218
20251230
20241217
20231259
20221226
20211230
20201257
201912119

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record SC0050200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Denmark Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20221
20172
20071
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2007–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American4
Anti-Mental Disability1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record SC0050200.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Denmark Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2006 and 2010. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet3
Other weapon0
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20060020
20100010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Bamberg

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record SC0050200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.