PoliceCensus

Home / States / South Carolina / Anderson Police Department

Anderson Police Department

City agency in Anderson, South Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1991.

ORI
SC0040100
Type
City
County
Anderson
State
South Carolina (SC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1991-01-01
Location
34.5014, -82.6498

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 31,319.

91Sworn officers
36Civilian staff
4.06Employees per 1,000 people
31,319Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025913631,3194.06
2024963030,1504.18
2023862429,9233.68
2022872529,3983.81
2021923427,8314.53
20201063827,8155.18
20191071327,4984.36
2018933627,4154.71
2017933627,7284.65
2016913727,5224.65
2015964627,3725.19
2014954127,1305.01

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Anderson Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12621117.7%
2025121823921.4%
2024121764626.1%
2023121825831.9%
2022121873518.7%
2021122886020.8%
2020122034522.2%
2019121182117.8%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 124607917.2%
2025121,29619615.1%
2024121,75025714.7%
2023121,66225915.6%
2022121,75226014.8%
2021121,96138319.5%
2020121,79743124.0%
2019121,35032123.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record SC0040100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Anderson Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12465
2025121,154
2024121,354
2023121,490
2022121,297
2021121,758
2020121,428
201912997

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record SC0040100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Anderson Police Department for 2013, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20131
20121
20101
20062
20051
20044
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2004–2013
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-Physical Disability1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record SC0040100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

9 people have died during an encounter with Anderson Police Department between 2004 and 2020, according to the two datasets named below.

9Deaths recorded
28.74Per 100,000 people policed
2004–2020Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot5
Vehicle2
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (6) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Anderson Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm24
Knife or other cutting instrument16
Hands, fists or feet180
Other weapon89
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950010
19980010
19990010
20000001
20041010
20050163
20060178
200702113
20081062
20090151
201021113
20111036
20122166
201331118
201412115
201520102
201621104
20172076
201813107
20195078
20200282
2021101410
20220042
20230010
20240092
202500190

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Anderson

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record SC0040100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.