PoliceCensus

Home / States / Pennsylvania / Reading Police Department

Reading Police Department

City agency in Berks, Pennsylvania, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
PA0061400
Type
City
County
Berks
State
Pennsylvania (PA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-08-01
Location
40.3369, -75.9213

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 99,299.

154Sworn officers
27Civilian staff
1.82Employees per 1,000 people
99,299Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251542799,2991.82
20241482897,8681.80
20231472597,7901.76
20221582697,6981.88
20211562591,0311.99
20201622488,4122.10
20191542288,5491.99
20181602288,4662.06
20171672287,4872.16
20161602287,8342.07
20151602687,7442.12
20141682487,8482.19

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Reading Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121399366.9%
20251225613653.1%
20241233115647.1%
20231245425055.1%
202210 of 1242418242.9%
2021Not reported
20201249925851.7%
201911 of 1247525553.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1270110615.1%
2025121,27619415.2%
2024121,41616111.4%
2023121,67518511.0%
202210 of 121,38614610.5%
2021Not reported
2020121,38516712.1%
201911 of 121,70122012.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record PA0061400.

Arrests

Arrests made by Reading Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 121,406
2025122,337
2024122,231
2023122,484
202210 of 122,327
2021Not reported
2020123,504
201911 of 125,108

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record PA0061400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Reading Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20243
20234
20222
20213
20202
20193
20161
20152
20142
20133
20123
20112
20101
20091
20081
20062
20051
20047
19991
19942
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American11
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-White8
Anti-Gay (Male)4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record PA0061400.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

10 people have died during an encounter with Reading Police Department between 2004 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

10Deaths recorded
10.07Per 100,000 people policed
2004–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot6
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Taser1
Tasered1
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (7) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Reading Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm42
Knife or other cutting instrument18
Hands, fists or feet755
Other weapon130
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199500172
199601203
199711294
199800213
199910151
200012246
200121185
200220277
200321253
200411426
200510377
200611387
200722337
200810295
200941314
201040324
201121225
201211183
201312194
201430182
201501212
201610174
201710164
201810131
201901204
202060184
202321224
2024105910
202500549

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Berks

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record PA0061400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.