PoliceCensus

Home / States / Pennsylvania / Philadelphia Police Department

Philadelphia Police Department

City agency in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
PAPEP0000
Type
City
County
Philadelphia
State
Pennsylvania (PA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-04-01
Location
40.0047, -75.1881

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 1,562,379.

5,065Sworn officers
817Civilian staff
3.76Employees per 1,000 people
1,562,379Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20255,0658171,562,3793.76
20245,1518171,549,2593.85
20235,4448221,550,8434.04
20225,8001,3841,555,8124.62
20206,3597811,586,6664.50
20196,5848281,589,0144.66
20186,5777891,586,9164.64
20176,5587891,575,5954.66
20166,3131,6821,570,8265.09
20156,4138161,567,8104.61
20146,4108251,559,0624.64
20136,5088171,553,1534.72

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Philadelphia Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 127,4073,62448.9%
20251212,9665,68043.8%
20241214,2095,65539.8%
20231215,3845,21233.9%
20221216,3944,87929.8%
20211215,8314,70429.7%
20201215,4925,74437.1%
20191213,9346,26144.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1238,1893,82010.0%
20251268,0256,5619.6%
20241271,5056,4489.0%
20231279,4284,7306.0%
20221268,2063,9795.8%
20211252,1393,6417.0%
20201248,2515,54311.5%
20191245,8936,49014.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record PAPEP0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Philadelphia Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1218,715
20251235,097
20241230,952
20231224,305
20221224,179
20211227,210
20201241,031
20191263,161

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record PAPEP0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

64 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Philadelphia Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202564
2024102
2023103
2022143
2021167
202050
201914
201842
201738
201638
201514
201411
20138
201211
20108
20096
200821
200728
200633
200526
200414
200344
200245
200148
200053
199970
199874
199777
199697
1995147
1994120
1993202
1991123
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American779
Anti-Jewish342
Anti-White222
Anti-Hispanic or Latino202
Anti-Asian112
Anti-Gay (Male)89
Anti-Multiple Races, Group59
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)50
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry41
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)20
Anti-Other Religion20
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native15
Anti-Arab13
Anti-Catholic12
Anti-Lesbian (Female)11
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group8
Anti-Transgender7
Anti-Protestant3
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)2
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming2
Anti-Hindu2
Anti-Mental Disability2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Jehovah's Witness1
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
Anti-Other Christian1
Anti-Physical Disability1
Unknown (offender's motivation not known)1

21 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record PAPEP0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

256 people have died during an encounter with Philadelphia Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

256Deaths recorded
16.39Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot222
Vehicle22
Medical emergency3
Tasered2
Gunshot, Taser2
Drug overdose1
Other1
Taser, Baton1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (190) and Mapping Police Violence (66). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Philadelphia Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1,620
Knife or other cutting instrument629
Hands, fists or feet12,362
Other weapon3,885
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199522108524
19961778230
199730138128
199837168853
199936168259
200036169355
200137148857
20023189046
200335118546
2004562510072
2005552110571
2006572410472
2007562110069
2008512610775
200949239574
2010381510068
201130239454
201236169955
201331118350
201426119330
20151878333
20162578743
20171499333
20181738932
201919118122
20202668639
2021110331,092269
2022169431,353328
2023154701,750543
202480622,492687
2025222513,302768

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Philadelphia

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record PAPEP0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.