PoliceCensus

Home / States / Oregon / Milwaukie Police Department

Milwaukie Police Department

City agency in Clackamas, Oregon, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2015.

ORI
OR0030500
Type
City
County
Clackamas
State
Oregon (OR)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2015-12-01
Location
45.4466, -122.6296

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 21,734.

34Sworn officers
9Civilian staff
1.98Employees per 1,000 people
21,734Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202534921,7341.98
202432921,7451.89
202333821,4901.91
202234520,7841.88
202137521,0941.99
202037521,0402.00
201937521,0751.99
201837520,8732.01
201737521,0332.00
201638420,9352.01
201538420,7242.03
201436420,5621.95

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Milwaukie Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12351234.3%
202512612236.1%
202412421228.6%
20231233824.2%
20221228932.1%
20211233927.3%
202012341544.1%
201912301343.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 122123014.2%
2025123505114.6%
2024123384212.4%
202312211178.1%
202212283176.0%
20211224241.7%
202012321165.0%
20191221083.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OR0030500.

Arrests

Arrests made by Milwaukie Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12342
202512473
202412485
202312371
202212369
202112320
202012308
201912395

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OR0030500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Milwaukie Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20241
20212
20191
20183
20003
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American3
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)3
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-Transgender1
Anti-White1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OR0030500.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Milwaukie Police Department between 2009 and 2014, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
9.20Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2014Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (1) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Milwaukie Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet40
Other weapon9
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950010
19970020
19980030
20000010
20010010
20020010
20030010
20040021
20050001
20060050
20070010
20090031
20100030
20110010
20120041
20130010
20140021
20190001
20200120
20210012
20220010
20230020
20240020
20250001

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Clackamas

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OR0030500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.