PoliceCensus

Home / States / Oregon / Keizer Police Department

Keizer Police Department

City agency in Marion, Oregon, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2003.

ORI
OR0241700
Type
City
County
Marion
State
Oregon (OR)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2003-11-01
Location
44.9009, -122.5763

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 39,110.

40Sworn officers
8Civilian staff
1.23Employees per 1,000 people
39,110Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202540839,1101.23
202436738,3101.12
202341838,3951.28
202242638,9581.23
202138839,9131.15
202040740,0871.17
201939840,1091.17
201839839,7271.18
201738739,3971.14
201636738,1651.13
201536737,4881.15
201437837,1891.21

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Keizer Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12493265.3%
202512857183.5%
2024121006767.0%
2023121076661.7%
202212925964.1%
2021121106962.7%
202012875057.5%
201912644062.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1239817945.0%
20251279028936.6%
20241284324829.4%
20231284825029.5%
2022121,03924123.2%
20211281614217.4%
20201285413415.7%
2019126938812.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OR0241700.

Arrests

Arrests made by Keizer Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12460
202512815
202412704
202312845
202212735
202112541
202012559
201912552

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OR0241700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Keizer Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20241
20232
20202
20121
20114
20072
20061
20051
20011
19962
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1996–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American6
Anti-Catholic5
Anti-Hispanic or Latino5
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OR0241700.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

3 people have died during an encounter with Keizer Police Department between 2018 and 2021, according to the two datasets named below.

3Deaths recorded
7.67Per 100,000 people policed
2018–2021Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (2) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Keizer Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument3
Hands, fists or feet15
Other weapon60
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950030
20100030
20110040
20120100
20130010
20150010
20170123
20190011
20200003
20210005
202200010
202300011
202401011
202500016

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Marion

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OR0241700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.