PoliceCensus

Home / States / Oregon / Albany Police Department

Albany Police Department

City agency in Benton, Linn, Oregon, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2016.

ORI
OR0220100
Type
City
County
Benton, Linn
State
Oregon (OR)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2016-07-01
Location
44.6298, -123.098

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 57,315.

60Sworn officers
32Civilian staff
1.61Employees per 1,000 people
57,315Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025603257,3151.61
2024732557,1791.71
2023643457,0021.72
2022583257,0581.58
2021483056,7461.37
2020563355,9261.59
2019633254,9931.73
2018643253,9731.78
2017653253,7011.81
2016612852,5441.69
2015602952,3941.70
2014592751,8891.66

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Albany Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12482858.3%
202512946468.1%
2024121137162.8%
2023121147666.7%
2022121167463.8%
2021121097770.6%
202012855665.9%
201912726488.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1257624843.1%
20251288835239.6%
2024121,08631929.4%
2023121,21230024.8%
2022121,61837923.4%
2021121,33626219.6%
2020121,58048330.6%
2019121,49551134.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OR0220100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Albany Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 121,029
2025121,642
2024121,607
2023121,567
2022121,709
2021121,813
2020122,672
2019123,269

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OR0220100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

5 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Albany Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20255
20245
202310
202215
202112
20201
20181
20172
20111
20101
20081
20071
20061
19982
19962
19951
19931
19921
19913
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American32
Anti-Hispanic or Latino13
Anti-Gay (Male)10
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OR0220100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

5 people have died during an encounter with Albany Police Department between 2006 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

5Deaths recorded
8.72Per 100,000 people policed
2006–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2
Vehicle2
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (3) and Mapping Police Violence (2). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Albany Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet82
Other weapon20
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950003
19960001
19970002
19980001
19990020
20010010
20020001
20060001
20110001
20170060
20180080
20200063
202110121
20220071
20230092
202400272
20250041

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OR0220100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.