PoliceCensus

Home / States / Ohio / Russell Township Police Department

Russell Township Police Department

City agency in Geauga, Ohio, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2015.

ORI
OH0280800
Type
City
County
Geauga
State
Ohio (OH)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2015-01-01
Location
41.4654, -81.3403

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 5,390.

12Sworn officers
1Civilian staff
2.41Employees per 1,000 people
5,390Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251215,3902.41
20241215,3972.41
20231215,4092.40
20221015,4472.02
20201015,1992.12
20191015,2192.11
20181015,2162.11
2016915,2501.90
2015815,2621.71
2013915,2161.92
2011915,1941.93
2010815,1901.73

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Russell Township Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1200—
202511 of 1211100.0%
202411 of 1211100.0%
20239 of 1211100.0%
202211 of 1200—
202110 of 1200—
202011 of 1211100.0%
201912100.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 126116.7%
202511 of 12200.0%
202411 of 121000.0%
20239 of 12500.0%
202211 of 128112.5%
202110 of 1210110.0%
202011 of 123800.0%
2019121300.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OH0280800.

Arrests

Arrests made by Russell Township Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 126
202511 of 1214
202411 of 1225
20239 of 1217
202211 of 1219
202110 of 1218
202011 of 1226
20191223

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OH0280800.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

No incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Russell Township Police Department in any year from 1991 to 2025, as at 14 August 2026. This does not mean none occurred.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OH0280800.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Russell Township Police Department between 2020 and 2020, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
18.55Per 100,000 people policed
2020–2020Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Also policing Geauga

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OH0280800. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.