PoliceCensus

Home / States / Ohio / Ross County Sheriff's Office

Ross County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Ross, Ohio, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
OH0710000
Type
County
County
Ross
State
Ohio (OH)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-05-01
Location
39.3339, -82.9823

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2024, covering a population of 55,122.

52Sworn officers
61Civilian staff
2.05Employees per 1,000 people
55,122Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2024526155,1222.05
2023526254,8392.08
2022525054,7441.86
2011542956,2041.48
2009442654,2861.29
2008523953,4671.70
2007564753,4301.93
2005583552,4501.77
2000623151,5491.80
1999622653,4221.65
1998622353,1231.60
1997612350,8471.65

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Ross County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12351028.6%
202512521223.1%
202412622337.1%
202312652538.5%
202212791519.0%
2021121095449.5%
2020121093935.8%
2019121145548.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12329237.0%
202512511326.3%
202412668375.5%
202312659487.3%
202212809445.4%
202112956495.1%
2020121,212685.6%
2019121,053656.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OH0710000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Ross County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12394
202512596
202412652
202312562
202212619
202112622
202012776
201912854

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OH0710000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Ross County Sheriff's Office for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20221
20211
20202
20191
20186
20173
20161
20151
20143
20133
20114
20104
20091
20072
200611
20041
20004
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White20
Anti-Black or African American10
Anti-Gay (Male)4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Mental Disability2
Anti-Sikh2
Anti-Atheism/Agnosticism1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Physical Disability1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OH0710000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

5 people have died during an encounter with Ross County Sheriff's Office between 2005 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

5Deaths recorded
9.07Per 100,000 people policed
2005–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot4
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (4) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$733,000Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2014–2014Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002014-05-12

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Ross

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OH0710000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.