PoliceCensus

Home / States / Ohio / Preble County Sheriff's Office

Preble County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Preble, Ohio, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2006.

ORI
OH0680000
Type
County
County
Preble
State
Ohio (OH)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2006-05-01
Location
39.7599, -84.6438

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2023, covering a population of 25,001.

25Sworn officers
34Civilian staff
2.36Employees per 1,000 people
25,001Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2023253425,0012.36
2022263425,0262.40
2017163527,1171.88
2012133427,6271.70
2011112727,7911.37
2010113427,7701.62
2009113327,7261.59
2008184327,8032.19
2007194328,1802.20
200618431,8730.69
2005184431,8871.94
2004184531,8371.98

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Preble County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1210440.0%
20251215533.3%
20241214642.9%
20231213753.8%
20221221314.3%
20211217952.9%
2020121313100.0%
201910 of 1210660.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1241922.0%
2025126646.1%
2024129277.6%
2023121171210.3%
2022129999.1%
2021121381611.6%
2020121742112.1%
201910 of 121412114.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OH0680000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Preble County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12138
202512211
202412208
202312267
202212286
202112400
202012330
201910 of 12237

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OH0680000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Preble County Sheriff's Office for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20241
20232
20211
20203
20181
20151
20141
20072
20061
19951
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming3
Anti-Jehovah's Witness2
Anti-White2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Black or African American1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OH0680000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Preble County Sheriff's Office between 2002 and 2002, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
4.00Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2002Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Also policing Preble

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OH0680000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.