PoliceCensus

Home / States / Ohio / Portsmouth Police Department

Portsmouth Police Department

City agency in Scioto, Ohio, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2006.

ORI
OH0730200
Type
City
County
Scioto
State
Ohio (OH)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2006-11-01
Location
38.7315, -82.9982

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2024, covering a population of 17,343.

43Sworn officers
10Civilian staff
3.06Employees per 1,000 people
17,343Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2024431017,3433.06
2023431117,2853.12
2022421117,8962.96
202137319,7022.03
2020411120,1512.58
201540320,3462.11
201438320,4762.00
201338320,3222.02
201235320,1701.88
201139420,2412.12
201042420,2262.27
200941420,2352.22

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Portsmouth Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12481429.2%
2025121133026.5%
2024121244032.3%
2023121353928.9%
202212742736.5%
2021121103128.2%
2020121423826.8%
2019121153530.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12333278.1%
202512540427.8%
202412675598.7%
202312761466.0%
202212468408.5%
202112836708.4%
202012944848.9%
20191290613214.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OH0730200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Portsmouth Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12405
202512615
202412712
202312747
202212508
202112967
202012728
201912999

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OH0730200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Portsmouth Police Department for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20243
20232
20223
20214
20203
20192
20183
20171
20162
20151
20144
20132
20124
20116
20103
200914
200822
20075
20063
19991
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1999–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Mental Disability30
Anti-Hispanic or Latino14
Anti-Black or African American12
Anti-Gay (Male)7
Anti-Bisexual6
Anti-White6
Anti-Heterosexual3
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OH0730200.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Portsmouth Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet112
Other weapon12
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199510150
199600110
19970090
19980081
199900120
200000130
20010092
20020041
20030094
20040051
20050060
20170020
20180010
20190010
20210021
20220010
20230031
20240100
20250011

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$293,114Original acquisition value
45Line items received
2000–2024Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Image Intensifier,Night Vision5$141,0032023-01-27
Packbot 510 With Fastac Remotely Controlled Vehicle1$77,0002023-02-09
Sight,Thermal4$52,0002024-02-07
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter25$13,5882014-09-24
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms56$4,7782024-08-19
Sight,Infinity1$2,5312019-07-09
Illuminator,Infrared2$1,8002024-08-14
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter3$4142008-05-29

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Scioto

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OH0730200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.