PoliceCensus

Home / States / Ohio / Dayton Police Department

Dayton Police Department

City agency in Montgomery, Ohio, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1998.

ORI
OH0570200
Type
City
County
Montgomery
State
Ohio (OH)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1998-01-01
Location
39.7587, -84.1971

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 136,047.

342Sworn officers
67Civilian staff
3.01Employees per 1,000 people
136,047Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202534267136,0473.01
202433245134,8572.80
202332558135,1812.83
202234660137,0842.96
202135540139,6712.83
201936363140,4273.03
201835866140,0943.03
201533872140,6832.91
201436147143,2172.85
201334766141,1672.93
201234273142,1392.92
201134249141,6312.76

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Dayton Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,09748444.1%
2025121,67379447.5%
2024121,81869138.0%
2023121,59854033.8%
2022121,61158536.3%
2021121,45559340.8%
2020121,58668343.1%
2019121,42456039.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 123,2052417.5%
2025125,4783636.6%
2024125,9183996.7%
2023126,4394446.9%
2022125,9474778.0%
2021125,1104669.1%
2020125,5145399.8%
2019125,78160710.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OH0570200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Dayton Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 123,939
2025126,325
2024126,314
2023127,103
2022126,787
2021126,079
2020125,782
2019126,834

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OH0570200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

6 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Dayton Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20256
20242
20234
20222
20211
20205
20197
20183
20172
20165
20155
201410
20138
20121
20117
20105
20096
20085
20073
20065
20052
200412
20039
19973
19962
19951
19943
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American50
Anti-White22
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)15
Anti-Hispanic or Latino11
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry8
Anti-Gay (Male)4
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Other Religion3
Anti-Asian2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OH0570200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

35 people have died during an encounter with Dayton Police Department between 2001 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

35Deaths recorded
25.73Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot30
Vehicle3
Drowned1
Medical emergency1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (24) and Mapping Police Violence (11). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Dayton Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm57
Knife or other cutting instrument11
Hands, fists or feet484
Other weapon118
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199541284
1996323616
199762317
20023056
20150020
201601220
201700275
201822250
2019404515
2020623713
2021603815
202251446
2023203417
20241005812
202560522

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Montgomery

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OH0570200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.