PoliceCensus

Home / States / Ohio / Cleveland Police Department

Cleveland Police Department

City agency in Cuyahoga, Ohio, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2003.

ORI
OHCLP0000
Type
City
County
Cuyahoga
State
Ohio (OH)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2003-01-01
Location
41.5399, -81.6276

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 363,659.

1,186Sworn officers
391Civilian staff
4.34Employees per 1,000 people
363,659Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,186391363,6594.34
20241,113201362,7623.62
20231,175205358,1463.85
20221,308201363,7644.15
20211,475221379,3134.47
20201,546242379,1214.72
20191,560225381,8294.67
20181,462213384,6664.35
20161,444234386,2274.34
20131,476251389,1814.44
20121,481228393,7814.34
20111,451246397,1064.27

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Cleveland Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 122,14229413.7%
2025124,96599820.1%
2024125,73994016.4%
2023126,18289714.5%
2022125,93478013.1%
2021126,46791014.1%
2020126,38584213.2%
2019125,85991515.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 125,8851372.3%
20251214,4174563.2%
20241216,4374532.8%
20231217,8475242.9%
20221216,0094362.7%
20211214,8484543.1%
20201216,0415083.2%
20191217,3785413.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record OHCLP0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Cleveland Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 121,155
2025123,022
2024123,415
2023123,377
2022122,973
2021123,692
2020123,402
2019124,076

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record OHCLP0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

6 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Cleveland Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20256
202427
202314
202212
202175
2020119
201930
201838
201713
20169
20158
20145
20137
20129
20114
201014
20095
20089
200718
200615
200515
200439
200323
200237
200161
200030
199921
199832
199721
199621
19956
199451
199337
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American299
Anti-White184
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry96
Anti-Transgender43
Anti-Gay (Male)42
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)35
Anti-Protestant19
Anti-Hispanic or Latino17
Anti-Physical Disability12
Anti-Asian11
Anti-Other Religion10
Anti-Jewish8
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native7
Anti-Multiple Races, Group6
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-Male5
Anti-Mental Disability5
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)4
Anti-Sikh4
Anti-Arab3
Anti-Catholic3
Anti-Heterosexual2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1

4 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record OHCLP0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

80 people have died during an encounter with Cleveland Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

80Deaths recorded
22.00Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot63
Vehicle12
Fell from a height1
Taser, Physical Restraint1
Tasered1
Taser1
Medical emergency1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (64) and Mapping Police Violence (16). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Cleveland Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm82
Knife or other cutting instrument19
Hands, fists or feet673
Other weapon272
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19952077736
19961227838
19971638237
1998917932
2000727431
2001427631
2002627527
2003607936
20160071
201700241
20180030
20190021
202020110
20210020
20240010
20250031

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Federal oversight

The Department of Justice Civil Rights Division has taken the following action against Cleveland Police Department under 34 U.S.C. § 12601. The case type and document titles below are DOJ’s own words, reproduced without interpretation — see all federal oversight matters on /oversight.

DOJ’s case type: Enforcement

DOJ says 'Division of Police'; the FBI register says Cleveland Police Department. Not East Cleveland (OH0181700).

Source: Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Special Litigation Section.

Also policing Cuyahoga

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record OHCLP0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.