PoliceCensus

Home / States / New York / Ossining Village Police Department

Ossining Village Police Department

City agency in Westchester, New York, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
NY0590500
Type
City
County
Westchester
State
New York (NY)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
41.1583, -73.8639

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Ossining Village Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 26,784.

60Sworn officers
7Civilian staff
2.50Employees per 1,000 people
26,784Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202560726,7842.50
202460626,2772.51
202355026,2552.09
202253626,9802.19
202157624,6072.56
202057824,7862.62
201960824,9912.72
201857825,4522.55
2015601025,4272.75
201455825,4552.47
201355825,3142.49
201255825,3662.48

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Ossining Village Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
202512312
202411 of 12324
202312337
202212313
2021Not reported
202012253
201912330

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NY0590500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Ossining Village Police Department for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20231
20221
20024
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2002–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NY0590500.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Ossining Village Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1997 and 2009. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet7
Other weapon1
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19970100
20030030
20050010
20060020
20090011

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$848,496Original acquisition value
24Line items received
2017–2022Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$658,0002017-01-12
Binocular,Night Vision13$133,8422022-07-27
Image Intensifier,Night Vision7$47,3032022-07-27
Sight,Night Vision Sniperscope1$7,9392021-11-01
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms14$1,0732022-01-11
Sight,Reflex20$3392021-05-21

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Westchester

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NY0590500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.