PoliceCensus

Home / States / New York / Newburgh Town Police Department

Newburgh Town Police Department

City agency in Orange, New York, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
NY0356300
Type
City
County
Orange
State
New York (NY)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
41.5316, -74.0647

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Newburgh Town Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 31,824.

50Sworn officers
9Civilian staff
1.85Employees per 1,000 people
31,824Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202550931,8241.85
2024491131,6341.90
2023501231,7151.95
2022491032,2071.83
2021481231,7051.89
2020451131,6911.77
2019351131,1281.48
2018461131,2001.83
2017491030,8621.91
2016461030,9331.81
2015431030,7731.72
2013461030,9841.81

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Newburgh Town Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
202511 of 12872
202412873
202312577
202212436
2021Not reported
202012525
201912872

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NY0356300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Newburgh Town Police Department for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20221
20211
20041
20001
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American2
Anti-Jewish2

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NY0356300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Newburgh Town Police Department between 2020 and 2020, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
3.14Per 100,000 people policed
2020–2020Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Newburgh Town Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1997 and 2013. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet3
Other weapon0
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19970010
20100010
20130010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$560,430Original acquisition value
4Line items received
2001–2019Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$495,0002019-03-04
Truck,Armored1$65,0702001-05-21
Sight,Reflex13$3392012-02-08
Spectacles,Ballistic And Laser Protective18$212012-01-24

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Orange

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NY0356300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.