PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Woodbridge Township Police Department

Woodbridge Township Police Department

City agency in Middlesex, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2024.

ORI
NJ0122500
Type
City
County
Middlesex
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2024-04-01
Location
40.5553, -74.2765

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 106,592.

222Sworn officers
67Civilian staff
2.71Employees per 1,000 people
106,592Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202522267106,5922.71
202423172105,2872.88
202322267103,4492.79
202221363102,9802.68
202120862103,6332.61
202020360100,1192.63
201920666100,1252.72
201819668100,8842.62
201719841102,1292.34
201619458102,1242.47
201519362100,9502.53
201419061100,9692.49

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Woodbridge Township Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121006868.0%
2025121489564.2%
202411 of 1217410258.6%
20231224612852.0%
20221219411961.3%
202110 of 121296449.6%
2020121267660.3%
2019121115650.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12776486.2%
2025121,243877.0%
202411 of 121,390634.5%
2023121,9241105.7%
2022121,8221447.9%
202110 of 121,1291109.7%
2020121,24318114.6%
2019121,41426518.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0122500.

Arrests

Arrests made by Woodbridge Township Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12912
2025121,193
202411 of 12913
2023121,374
2022121,530
202110 of 121,171
2020121,716
2019122,103

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0122500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

5 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Woodbridge Township Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20255
20246
202314
202218
20219
20202
20193
20182
20172
20161
20152
20147
20133
20127
20113
20105
20099
20087
20071
20063
20041
20032
20024
20012
20006
199919
199821
199715
199618
19958
19946
199310
199217
19911
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American86
Anti-Jewish66
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry28
Anti-Asian13
Anti-Hispanic or Latino6
Anti-White6
Anti-Other Religion5
Anti-Gay (Male)3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Physical Disability1

10 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0122500.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Woodbridge Township Police Department between 2015 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
1.88Per 100,000 people policed
2015–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Woodbridge Township Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument7
Hands, fists or feet352
Other weapon75
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199500171
19960042
199700228
199801265
199900213
200000226
200101222
200200233
2003002410
200400155
200500153
200612143
200702163
20080020
20090030
20100020
20111070
201200131
20130091
20140061
20150020
20160040
20170030
20180060
20190062
202000111
202211134
202300121
2025001210

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Middlesex

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0122500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.