PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Wayne Township Police Department

Wayne Township Police Department

City agency in Passaic, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
NJ0161400
Type
City
County
Passaic
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-04-01
Location
40.928, -74.2301

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 53,903.

125Sworn officers
28Civilian staff
2.84Employees per 1,000 people
53,903Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251252853,9032.84
20241242853,2952.85
20231242852,3172.91
20221312553,8282.90
20211212855,2492.70
20201182853,1622.75
20191172853,2792.72
20181202754,3402.71
20171172754,9032.62
20161142755,0232.56
20151143155,0362.63
20141212555,1972.65

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Wayne Township Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12392974.4%
202512504794.0%
202412534075.5%
202312503672.0%
202212594067.8%
202112382976.3%
202012543564.8%
201912302376.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1248612826.3%
20251296322323.2%
2024121,04124223.2%
2023121,12525622.8%
2022121,11322620.3%
20211259111419.3%
20201265013821.2%
20191289425528.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0161400.

Arrests

Arrests made by Wayne Township Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12548
202512835
202412877
202312897
202212773
202112430
2020121,187
2019121,751

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0161400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

28 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Wayne Township Police Department for 2020, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202028
201915
20184
20154
20112
20041
20031
20026
20019
200012
19995
199816
19974
199612
19959
19946
19936
199211
19917
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2020
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American44
Anti-Jewish43
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry12
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)8
Anti-Asian7
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Hispanic or Latino6
Anti-Arab4
Anti-White4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Christian1

15 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0161400.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Wayne Township Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet141
Other weapon24
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950090
19960051
19970021
19980040
19990001
20000051
20010052
200200113
20030054
20040050
20050150
20060040
20070010
20080063
20090010
20101021
20110020
20120010
20140010
20160010
20180010
20200061
20210040
202200161
202300202
20240091
202500102

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Passaic

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0161400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.