PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Sayreville Police Department

Sayreville Police Department

City agency in Middlesex, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2024.

ORI
NJ0121900
Type
City
County
Middlesex
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2024-06-01
Location
40.4769, -74.3021

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 47,610.

91Sworn officers
20Civilian staff
2.33Employees per 1,000 people
47,610Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025912047,6102.33
2024891746,5812.28
2023891745,2332.34
2022891744,9812.36
2021921445,8212.31
2020881544,2822.33
2019851544,5812.24
2018921545,0622.37
2017821245,4602.07
2016841245,1412.13
2015871145,8402.14
2014881144,9152.20

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Sayreville Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12341647.1%
202512682841.2%
20249 of 12592745.8%
202312372978.4%
202212393076.9%
202110 of 12362261.1%
202012552545.5%
201912342367.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12212104.7%
202512431153.5%
20249 of 12441327.3%
202312566396.9%
202212432235.3%
202110 of 1229882.7%
202012260176.5%
201912310206.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0121900.

Arrests

Arrests made by Sayreville Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12145
202512223
20249 of 12144
202312334
202212313
202110 of 12261
202012443
201912541

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0121900.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Sayreville Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20241
20238
202210
20217
20209
20195
20121
20092
20081
20073
20065
20059
20021
20012
20001
19991
19982
19971
19963
19954
19946
19933
19925
19912
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American35
Anti-Jewish12
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry7
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)4
Anti-Arab3
Anti-White3
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Physical Disability1

13 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0121900.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Sayreville Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet68
Other weapon6
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950021
19960030
19970040
19980041
19990030
20000072
20010021
200200101
20030080
20040010
20050080
20060020
20120020
20140010
20190010
20200010
20220030
20230010
20250050

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$361,079Original acquisition value
12Line items received
2015–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground2$197,0602021-01-11
Camera,Ir1$84,4502017-06-07
Truck,Utility1$62,6272015-06-01
Computer,Digital2$6,7952021-03-23
Armor,Transparent,Vehicular Window2$4,6162017-03-13
Radar Hand Set,Traffic1$2,3852017-06-07
Light Gun,Radar Target1$1,7002017-06-07
Power Supply Subassembly1$1,4142020-02-07
Magazine,Cartridge173$322021-03-23

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Middlesex

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0121900. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.