PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Ridgewood Police Department

Ridgewood Police Department

City agency in Bergen, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
NJ0025100
Type
City
County
Bergen
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
40.9822, -74.1126

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 26,873.

49Sworn officers
11Civilian staff
2.23Employees per 1,000 people
26,873Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025491126,8732.23
202444526,8641.82
202344626,3921.89
202248526,4852.00
202145425,9591.89
202045525,0362.00
201947525,1922.06
201847525,4292.04
201745325,7291.87
201643325,6171.80
201542325,5811.76
201442325,4821.77

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Ridgewood Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 128675.0%
2025129666.7%
20241212975.0%
20231210440.0%
2022128225.0%
20211210330.0%
2020128562.5%
201912131184.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12591016.9%
2025121282620.3%
2024121572113.4%
2023121652012.1%
202212203199.4%
20211214453.5%
202012135139.6%
2019121432014.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0025100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Ridgewood Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 1285
202512135
202412100
20231288
20221273
20211239
202012160
201912180

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0025100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

11 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Ridgewood Police Department for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202311
20223
20206
20198
20185
20174
20151
20142
20121
20102
20092
20084
20071
20041
20011
20001
19992
19982
19971
19962
19951
19942
19931
19922
19913
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Jewish31
Anti-Black or African American18
Anti-Hispanic or Latino4
Anti-Asian3
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-Transgender1

4 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0025100.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Ridgewood Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet74
Other weapon3
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950041
19960050
19970010
19980031
19990020
20000050
20010020
20030040
20040040
20050020
20060010
20070030
20080020
20090050
20100010
20110010
20120030
20130071
20140110
20150020
20160040
20180040
20200010
20210010
20220020
20230020
20240010
20250010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Bergen

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0025100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.