PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Maplewood Township Police Department

Maplewood Township Police Department

City agency in Essex, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
NJ0071100
Type
City
County
Essex
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-11-01
Location
40.7224, -74.2576

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 26,239.

62Sworn officers
12Civilian staff
2.82Employees per 1,000 people
26,239Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025621226,2392.82
2024631225,7862.91
2023631225,1302.98
2022631225,0882.99
2021631227,3202.75
2020631225,5312.94
2019651225,2973.04
2018641224,6353.09
2017611224,8632.94
2016631024,7432.95
2015591124,8152.82
2014631124,6893.00

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Maplewood Township Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 127571.4%
20251212541.7%
20241213215.4%
20231220525.0%
2022122627.7%
20213 of 123266.7%
202012141071.4%
201912221359.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121182722.9%
2025122332510.7%
202412360143.9%
202312310154.8%
202212354102.8%
20213 of 125000.0%
2020123438123.6%
20191243512328.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0071100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Maplewood Township Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 1277
20251288
20241246
20231264
20221242
20213 of 124
202012126
201912188

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0071100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

5 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Maplewood Township Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20255
202411
20236
20201
20181
20171
20111
20081
20063
20021
20011
20002
19972
19951
19943
19922
19912
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Jewish16
Anti-Black or African American14
Anti-White4
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

3 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0071100.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Maplewood Township Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument3
Hands, fists or feet104
Other weapon43
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19951163
19960185
19970053
19980059
19990061
20000023
20010042
20021021
20030052
20040033
20050152
20061071
20070042
20080072
20090022
20100030
20110030
20120050
20130020
20140051
20150010
20160040
20170010
20180011
20190010
20200040
20230010
20250020

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Essex

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0071100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.