PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Lawrence Township Police Department, Mercer County

Lawrence Township Police Department, Mercer County

City agency in Mercer, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
NJ0110700
Type
City
County
Mercer
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 32,186.

61Sworn officers
15Civilian staff
2.36Employees per 1,000 people
32,186Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025611532,1862.36
202460432,0402.00
202360431,3142.04
202260632,9492.00
202160633,8821.95
202060732,2822.08
201958432,4151.91
201858432,6441.90
201758432,9291.88
201658433,0231.88
201559632,9831.97
201460533,1331.96

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Lawrence Township Police Department, Mercer County in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12261557.7%
2025121212100.0%
20241212325.0%
2023121417.1%
2022121400.0%
2021121700.0%
202012402357.5%
201912452862.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122727728.3%
202512430429.8%
202412589325.4%
20231255340.7%
20221252500.0%
20211248581.6%
2020123607019.4%
20191249515230.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0110700.

Arrests

Arrests made by Lawrence Township Police Department, Mercer County, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12337
20251245
20241274
202312148
202212178
202112139
202012659
2019121,254

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0110700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Lawrence Township Police Department, Mercer County for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
202417
20233
20227
202012
20194
20172
20142
20131
20102
20092
20087
20078
20069
200518
20048
20032
20026
20019
20007
199910
199810
19975
19963
19953
199413
199314
19928
19917
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American89
Anti-Jewish47
Anti-White15
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry9
Anti-Asian8
Anti-Gay (Male)8
Anti-Arab4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)4
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Physical Disability1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0110700.

Also policing Mercer

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0110700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.