PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Jersey City Police Department

Jersey City Police Department

City agency in Hudson, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
NJ0090600
Type
City
County
Hudson
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
40.7209, -74.0444

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 305,249.

799Sworn officers
385Civilian staff
3.88Employees per 1,000 people
305,249Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025799385305,2493.88
2024836304297,9223.83
2023913309285,1174.29
2022921247276,3004.23
2021934510275,2135.25
20201,005279263,2734.88
20191,005279266,5084.82
201888669270,1753.53
2017890148267,9063.87
2016865414266,1794.81
2015814122265,1593.53
2014790146260,0053.60

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Jersey City Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1298137938.6%
2025121,48746331.1%
2024121,67754632.6%
2023121,42058441.1%
2022121,25151741.3%
2021121,02633732.8%
2020121,16747640.8%
2019121,39357541.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 123,3541895.6%
2025125,5893085.5%
2024126,0674868.0%
2023125,53260711.0%
2022125,1644158.0%
2021123,5142326.6%
2020123,9492636.7%
2019125,0924779.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0090600.

Arrests

Arrests made by Jersey City Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,794
2025122,498
2024122,915
2023123,020
2022122,913
2021122,095
2020124,779
2019126,399

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0090600.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

16 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Jersey City Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202516
202421
20237
20228
20218
20202
20198
20184
20171
20164
20153
20144
20135
20121
201111
20105
20098
200820
200715
200613
200514
20043
20039
20023
20019
20001
19982
19977
19963
199511
19943
19934
19927
199111
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American49
Anti-Jewish41
Anti-White31
Anti-Gay (Male)23
Anti-Asian20
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry15
Anti-Hispanic or Latino11
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)11
Anti-Transgender8
Anti-Lesbian (Female)6
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)6
Anti-Arab5
Anti-Catholic4
Anti-Other Religion4
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Physical Disability1

11 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0090600.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

22 people have died during an encounter with Jersey City Police Department between 2000 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

22Deaths recorded
7.21Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot18
Vehicle4

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (12) and Mapping Police Violence (10). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Jersey City Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm56
Knife or other cutting instrument84
Hands, fists or feet1,587
Other weapon372
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199513164028
1996345719
1997315113
1998204614
1999315826
2000495230
20010105427
2002144817
2003004012
200410329
200520395
2006334314
200701504
200840588
2009255111
2010114016
2011015511
201214455
2013225113
201410531
201500454
201600373
201701241
201810200
201921234
202000205
202120252
2022136322
20230110826
20240414412
202541211510

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$74,765Original acquisition value
161Line items received
2003–2018Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter145$72,3552003-11-12
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter15$2,0702003-10-30
Sight,Reflex8$3402018-12-04

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Hudson

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0090600. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.