PoliceCensus

Home / States / New Jersey / Brick Township Police Department

Brick Township Police Department

City agency in Ocean, New Jersey, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2025.

ORI
NJ0150600
Type
City
County
Ocean
State
New Jersey (NJ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2025-01-01
Location
39.8657, -74.2589

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 77,471.

144Sworn officers
39Civilian staff
2.36Employees per 1,000 people
77,471Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251443977,4712.36
20241464078,6852.36
20231453977,1072.39
20221463876,2872.41
20211456880,5052.65
20201417076,3262.76
20191416975,5922.78
20181426674,7122.78
20171386575,5662.69
20161346274,8182.62
20151335976,0972.52
20141305675,9952.45

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Brick Township Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12675074.6%
20251212710179.5%
2024121085954.6%
2023121006060.0%
2022121067873.6%
202110 of 12915459.3%
202012615488.5%
201912836173.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1244314833.4%
20251282819323.3%
20241284710312.2%
20231298413613.8%
202212804789.7%
202110 of 125796210.7%
20201268610815.7%
20191280914918.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NJ0150600.

Arrests

Arrests made by Brick Township Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12575
202512784
202412910
202312965
2022121,057
202110 of 12912
2020121,449
2019121,843

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NJ0150600.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

7 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Brick Township Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20257
202410
202313
202212
202112
202010
20192
20181
20172
20162
20141
20134
20121
20112
20102
20091
20063
20053
20041
20031
20022
20015
20001
19993
19981
19971
19962
19952
19941
19932
19927
19912
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American46
Anti-Jewish28
Anti-Gay (Male)10
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Asian3
Anti-Mental Disability2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-White1

8 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NJ0150600.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Brick Township Police Department between 2015 and 2017, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
2.58Per 100,000 people policed
2015–2017Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Brick Township Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1997 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument3
Hands, fists or feet169
Other weapon28
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19970021
19980010
199901101
200000141
20010093
200200162
200300151
200400162
20050033
20060063
20070091
20080081
20090162
20100021
20120010
20130040
20140090
20151010
20160010
20171000
20180010
20190010
20200062
20220092
20231071
20240030
20250191

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1.1mOriginal acquisition value
7Line items received
2013–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002016-08-22
Truck,Utility5$243,2792014-01-31
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground1$77,0602021-01-11

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Ocean

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NJ0150600. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.