PoliceCensus

Home / States / Nebraska / Grant County Sheriff's Office

Grant County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Grant, Nebraska, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
NB0380000
Type
County
County
Grant
State
Nebraska (NE)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
41.9159, -101.7569

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 563.

2Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
3.55Employees per 1,000 people
563Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025205633.55
2024205563.60
2023105601.79
2022105501.82
2021206373.14
2020106211.61
2019206633.02
2018206523.07
2017206463.10
2016106461.55
2015106211.61
2014106401.56

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Grant County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 1200—
20251211100.0%
202410 of 1200—
20231200—
202211 of 1200—
20211200—
2020Not reported
2019Not reported
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 1200—
20251200—
202410 of 1200—
20231200—
202211 of 1200—
20211200—
2020Not reported
2019Not reported

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NB0380000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Grant County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20265 of 120
2025Annual total only1 †
202410 of 120
2023120
202211 of 120
2021Annual total only1 †
2020Not reported
2019Not reported

† Annual total only. For 2021, 2025, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NB0380000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

No incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Grant County Sheriff's Office in any year from 1991 to 2025, as at 14 August 2026. This does not mean none occurred.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NB0380000.

Also policing Grant

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NB0380000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.