PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Wake County Sheriff's Office

Wake County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Wake, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
NC0920000
Type
County
County
Wake
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
35.7898, -78.6506

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 193,737.

354Sworn officers
465Civilian staff
4.23Employees per 1,000 people
193,737Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025354465193,7374.23
2024385464202,5534.19
2023364469198,7484.19
2022332460210,3873.76
2021327503182,1014.56
2020383553198,3064.72
2019368553198,6744.64
2018375617199,6184.97
2017370576199,0334.75
2016378589195,8824.94
2015385588193,7395.02
2014381562193,5314.87

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Wake County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121216553.7%
20251225515862.0%
20241227812143.5%
2023122478936.0%
20221222810043.9%
20211223110846.8%
2020122679937.1%
20191222112556.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 125346011.2%
2025121,001989.8%
2024121,04711611.1%
2023121,161837.1%
2022121,299987.5%
2021121,380997.2%
2020121,2801058.2%
2019121,43214910.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0920000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Wake County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12760
2025122,251
2024122,744
2023122,634
2022121,550
2021121,645
2020122,407
2019123,075

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0920000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

5 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Wake County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20255
20241
20232
20221
20207
20191
20183
20172
20061
20053
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2005–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American8
Anti-Hispanic or Latino3
Anti-Jewish3
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-White3
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Transgender1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0920000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

8 people have died during an encounter with Wake County Sheriff's Office between 2009 and 2019, according to the two datasets named below.

8Deaths recorded
4.13Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2019Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot7
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (5) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1,751Original acquisition value
3Line items received
2017–2024Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms165$1,0732024-08-22
Sight,Reflex10$6782017-03-02

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Wake

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0920000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.