PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Sanford Police Department

Sanford Police Department

City agency in Lee, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
NC0530100
Type
City
County
Lee
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
35.4761, -79.1722

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 33,695.

73Sworn officers
26Civilian staff
2.94Employees per 1,000 people
33,695Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025732633,6952.94
2024742532,6873.03
2023692231,7182.87
2022642131,0832.73
2021692330,5833.01
2020722330,2993.14
2019752430,1353.29
2018802229,4833.46
2017812429,2953.58
2016822329,3473.58
2015812029,3603.44
2014821929,8053.39

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Sanford Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1200—
202512582034.5%
202412572340.4%
202312652030.8%
202212722940.3%
202112664466.7%
202012653452.3%
201912644164.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1200—
2025127089313.1%
20241280911113.7%
20231272110414.4%
20221276711214.6%
20211276016221.3%
20201292436039.0%
20191282628033.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0530100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Sanford Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20261 of 120
202512761
202412737
202312866
2022121,047
2021121,044
2020121,154
2019121,490

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0530100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Sanford Police Department for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20221
20211
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2021–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0530100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with Sanford Police Department between 2008 and 2019, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
11.87Per 100,000 people policed
2008–2019Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot4

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (3) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Sanford Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2024. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm5
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet185
Other weapon19
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199510120
19961082
199700100
199800112
19990094
20001071
20011070
200200111
20030191
200400100
200500171
20060080
200700111
20080070
20091060
20100030
20110060
20120040
20140070
20180001
20190061
20200120
20210011
20220083
20230030
20240020

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Lee

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0530100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.