PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Martin County Sheriff's Office

Martin County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Martin, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
NC0590000
Type
County
County
Martin
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-05-01
Location
35.8411, -77.1129

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 15,159.

38Sworn officers
4Civilian staff
2.77Employees per 1,000 people
15,159Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202538415,1592.77
202437515,2342.76
202337515,0682.79
202239615,3832.93
202138515,2442.82
202039515,7512.79
201938415,8742.65
201840315,9572.69
201737216,1722.41
201637316,2662.46
201531416,5132.12
201436216,7782.26

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Martin County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12472757.4%
202512412868.3%
202412321443.8%
202312603253.3%
202212442250.0%
202112391846.2%
20208 of 12322062.5%
2019Not reported
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12932021.5%
2025121633320.2%
2024121613924.2%
2023121652615.8%
2022122023316.3%
2021121973216.2%
20208 of 121652414.5%
2019Not reported

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0590000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Martin County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12332
202512432
202412242
202312273
202212249
202112301
20208 of 12222
2019Not reported

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0590000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Martin County Sheriff's Office for 2018, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20181
20172
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2017–2018
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0590000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Martin County Sheriff's Office between 2009 and 2009, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
6.60Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2009Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$655,767Original acquisition value
51Line items received
1998–2020Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Ambulance5$482,3302020-03-17
Truck,Armored1$65,0702007-10-03
Truck,Utility1$63,6822020-10-28
Car,Armored1$33,7072012-03-15
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter30$9,2852010-10-04
Sight,Reflex14$6782016-11-03
Sight,Rear13$3352017-04-27
Barrel,Rifle13$2802017-03-29
Navigation Set,Satellite Signals8$2602013-02-20
Receiver,Cartridge13$702017-03-29
Extension,Lower13$282017-03-29
Buffer Assembly,Recoil7$232017-03-29
Magazine,Cartridge40$162016-03-10
Plate,Receiver End7$32017-03-29

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Martin

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0590000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.