PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Hickory Police Department

Hickory Police Department

City agency in Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
NC0180200
Type
City
County
Burke, Caldwell, Catawba
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
35.73, -81.3433

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 45,436.

98Sworn officers
39Civilian staff
3.02Employees per 1,000 people
45,436Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025983945,4363.02
2024994044,6823.11
2023944044,3513.02
20221123043,7563.25
20211103341,6043.44
20201123141,3003.46
20191103741,0403.58
20181063240,7013.39
20171053640,6533.47
20161033540,4373.41
20151093440,1623.56
20141103440,4353.56

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Hickory Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121567044.9%
20251225512348.2%
2024121838043.7%
2023122228839.6%
2022122319641.6%
2021122529336.9%
2020122257332.4%
2019121687343.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1258911118.8%
2025121,32222416.9%
2024121,27219515.3%
2023121,34618713.9%
2022121,54323515.2%
2021121,87529515.7%
2020121,73520812.0%
2019121,80528115.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0180200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Hickory Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12829
2025121,687
2024121,590
2023121,633
2022121,881
2021122,146
2020122,005
2019122,182

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0180200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

4 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Hickory Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20254
20242
20214
20193
20181
20161
20152
20131
20123
20112
20101
20092
20071
20041
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2004–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American9
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-White2

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0180200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

7 people have died during an encounter with Hickory Police Department between 2008 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

7Deaths recorded
15.41Per 100,000 people policed
2008–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot5
Taser1
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (5) and Fatal Encounters (2). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Hickory Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm7
Knife or other cutting instrument10
Hands, fists or feet326
Other weapon21
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199502152
199602131
19971191
19980092
199911130
200000151
200100131
20020050
20030021
20040060
200500130
200610141
200720121
200802101
200900110
20100081
20110030
201200121
201300100
20140062
20150150
20160010
20170040
20181040
201900121
202000131
202100171
202200220
202301161
202410170
202500161

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0180200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.