PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Columbus Police Department

Columbus Police Department

City agency in Polk, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
NC0750300
Type
City
County
Polk
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
35.2779, -82.1676

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 1,053.

9Sworn officers
1Civilian staff
9.50Employees per 1,000 people
1,053Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025911,0539.50
2024811,1098.12
2023911,1079.03
2022911,0209.80
2021811,0088.93
2020819989.02
2019819959.05
2018819919.08
201710197911.24
201610199411.07
20159199110.09
2014909979.03

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Columbus Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1222100.0%
20251200—
20241200—
20231222100.0%
20221200—
20211200—
20201200—
20191200—
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 128562.5%
20251215746.7%
202412171376.5%
20231216956.3%
20221214750.0%
202112321443.8%
202012482143.8%
201912391743.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0750300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Columbus Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12114
202512155
202412149
202312220
202212231
202112279
202012206
201912229

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0750300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

No incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Columbus Police Department in any year from 1991 to 2025, as at 14 August 2026. This does not mean none occurred.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0750300.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Columbus Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2018. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm7
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet105
Other weapon12
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19951011
19962031
19970030
19981020
19990031
20001040
20010011
20020043
20030030
20041060
20050150
20060020
20070041
20080050
20100071
20110081
201211100
20130021
20140070
201500111
20160070
20170060
20180010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Polk

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0750300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.