PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Cary Police Department

Cary Police Department

City agency in Chatham, Durham, Wake, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
NC0920300
Type
City
County
Chatham, Durham, Wake
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
35.7898, -78.6506

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 184,680.

194Sworn officers
46Civilian staff
1.30Employees per 1,000 people
184,680Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202519446184,6801.30
202419869181,7931.47
202318157182,8781.30
202217743178,6001.23
202117145177,7351.22
202017438174,4411.22
201918641172,5251.32
201819041170,5181.35
201718740166,9861.36
201618538164,8351.35
201518937160,2911.41
201419735154,9781.50

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Cary Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12764153.9%
2025121389367.4%
2024121317456.5%
2023121919248.2%
2022121468155.5%
2021121356749.6%
2020121218166.9%
2019121176353.8%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1295319220.1%
2025121,78337020.8%
2024122,41036215.0%
2023122,2592089.2%
2022121,9841929.7%
2021121,72121912.7%
2020121,67824514.6%
2019121,57334221.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0920300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Cary Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12908
2025121,326
2024121,264
2023121,124
2022121,133
2021121,175
2020121,307
2019121,575

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0920300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Cary Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20246
20232
20212
20191
20185
20111
20091
20071
20062
20033
19991
19972
19961
19954
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American12
Anti-Jewish10
Anti-Hispanic or Latino3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0920300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Cary Police Department between 2011 and 2017, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
1.08Per 100,000 people policed
2011–2017Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (1) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Cary Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm4
Knife or other cutting instrument5
Hands, fists or feet258
Other weapon43
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950092
19960072
19970054
19981183
19990061
20000060
200110130
20020050
200300121
200400100
20050070
200600100
20071073
20080020
20090070
201000101
20110041
20120091
20130041
20140030
20150020
20160020
20170020
20180040
20190071
20200175
20210181
202200190
202310217
202400267
202502162

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0920300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.