PoliceCensus

Home / States / Mississippi / Natchez Police Department

Natchez Police Department

City agency in Adams, Mississippi, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
MS0010100
Type
City
County
Adams
State
Mississippi (MS)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
31.5584, -91.3722

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Natchez Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2023, covering a population of 13,511.

27Sworn officers
15Civilian staff
3.11Employees per 1,000 people
13,511Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2023271513,5113.11
2022281413,4563.12
20210014,2340.00
202038814,4973.17
201936814,9172.95
2018401014,7653.39
2015492715,1425.02
2011452515,8524.42
2010452515,7924.43
2009432616,2094.26
2008482616,4334.50
2007482516,9304.31

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Natchez Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025Not reported
2024Not reported
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020120
20198 of 120

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MS0010100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Natchez Police Department for 1998, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
19981
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1998
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MS0010100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with Natchez Police Department between 2007 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
29.61Per 100,000 people policed
2007–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle3
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (3) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Natchez Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2004. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet30
Other weapon4
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950020
19960040
19970141
19980052
20000010
20010070
20020010
20030030
20040031

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$4,990Original acquisition value
10Line items received
2003–2003Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter10$4,9902003-09-25

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Adams

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MS0010100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.