PoliceCensus

Home / States / Mississippi / Grenada Police Department

Grenada Police Department

City agency in Grenada, Mississippi, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2025.

ORI
MS0220100
Type
City
County
Grenada
State
Mississippi (MS)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2025-01-01
Location
33.7871, -89.8012

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 12,012.

27Sworn officers
6Civilian staff
2.75Employees per 1,000 people
12,012Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202527612,0122.75
202427612,1392.72
202328312,1302.56
202231312,3192.76
20210012,0160.00
202032612,1313.13
201839612,4363.62
201144413,1413.65
201043313,0923.51
200941314,6473.00
200845314,6643.27
200743514,4873.31

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Grenada Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12161168.8%
202512422457.1%
20249 of 1200—
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Not reported
2019Not reported
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12943739.4%
20251227012847.4%
20249 of 1200—
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Not reported
2019Not reported

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MS0220100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Grenada Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12506
202512908
20249 of 120
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Not reported
2019Not reported

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MS0220100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

4 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Grenada Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20254
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White2
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MS0220100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with Grenada Police Department between 2002 and 2020, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
33.30Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2020Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle3
Taser, Physical Restraint1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (3) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Grenada Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1996 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm4
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet66
Other weapon15
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19960051
19970031
19980010
19990030
20000081
20010080
20020042
20032162
20041020
20051081
20060161
20070020
20080030
20090010
20100010
20210010
20220010
20230002
20240001
20250033

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$11,031Original acquisition value
25Line items received
1998–2006Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter21$10,4792006-09-06
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter4$5522006-09-07

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Grenada

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MS0220100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.