PoliceCensus

Home / States / Missouri / St. Louis County Police Department

St. Louis County Police Department

County agency in St Louis, Missouri, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
MO0950000
Type
County
County
St Louis
State
Missouri (MO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-01-01
Location
38.6502, -90.3383

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 400,341.

786Sworn officers
339Civilian staff
2.81Employees per 1,000 people
400,341Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025786339400,3412.81
2024817362402,5102.93
2023834343398,9692.95
2022868340401,1353.01
2021907345406,8333.08
2020933383406,2893.24
2019949282406,7653.03
2018931305406,7183.04
2017902299409,2832.93
2016880280412,2012.81
2015812273398,8812.72
2014815267399,3872.71

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by St. Louis County Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,05066863.6%
2025121,7611,15865.8%
2024121,9301,19561.9%
2023121,9781,10756.0%
2022121,83797753.2%
2021122,0341,03350.8%
2020122,08682339.5%
2019121,8211,02556.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122,98265822.1%
2025125,7191,29522.6%
2024126,1401,31121.4%
2023127,4971,32117.6%
2022128,7581,23514.1%
2021127,9661,05713.3%
2020127,9791,12614.1%
2019128,1351,82622.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MO0950000.

Arrests

Arrests made by St. Louis County Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 126,231
2025129,202
2024128,161
2023128,356
2022128,118
2021128,360
2020128,470
20191217,418

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MO0950000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

13 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for St. Louis County Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202513
20247
20236
20227
20212
20206
20192
20183
20172
20162
20155
20145
20131
20122
20117
20105
20093
20081
20074
20064
20056
20046
20033
20024
200112
200013
199910
19989
19978
19967
19953
19948
199316
199215
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American132
Anti-Jewish22
Anti-White12
Anti-Hispanic or Latino8
Anti-Gay (Male)7
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry6
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Other Religion3
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Transgender1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MO0950000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

60 people have died during an encounter with St. Louis County Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

60Deaths recorded
14.99Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot43
Vehicle14
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Taser1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (41) and Mapping Police Violence (19). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of St. Louis County Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm191
Knife or other cutting instrument79
Hands, fists or feet3,773
Other weapon723
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199530214
199601198
199711317
199821414
199922407
2000214614
2001126017
2002135214
2003336022
2004125714
2005115919
2006545916
2007315424
2008315514
2009225421
2010724622
2011755117
2012244811
2013746116
2014813520
2015414419
2016624720
2017714316
2018525016
2019575416
2020171531648
202115034753
20229042168
202334742658
20249055962
202519351756

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$159,398Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2008–2008Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Helicopter,Observation1$159,3982008-10-03

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing St Louis

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MO0950000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.