PoliceCensus

Home / States / Missouri / Aurora Police Department

Aurora Police Department

City agency in Lawrence, Missouri, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
MO0550100
Type
City
County
Lawrence
State
Missouri (MO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-11-01
Location
36.975, -93.7179

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 7,665.

17Sworn officers
5Civilian staff
2.87Employees per 1,000 people
7,665Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251757,6652.87
20241857,6123.02
20231757,5132.93
20221667,3293.00
20201777,4413.23
20191667,4552.95
20181677,4783.08
20171767,5083.06
20161777,4713.21
20151677,4373.09
20141777,4933.20
20131577,4742.94

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Aurora Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1211545.5%
20253 of 122150.0%
202412231565.2%
202312301860.0%
202212542750.0%
202112542546.3%
202012482041.7%
201912361747.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1236513.9%
20253 of 121100.0%
2024121042221.2%
2023121432517.5%
2022121562314.7%
2021122202812.7%
2020122884716.3%
2019123806316.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MO0550100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Aurora Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 1236
20253 of 1214
202412173
202312213
202212221
202112185
202012257
201912307

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MO0550100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Aurora Police Department for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20231
20071
19941
19931
19911
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American3
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MO0550100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with Aurora Police Department between 2008 and 2018, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
52.19Per 100,000 people policed
2008–2018Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2
Vehicle2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (2) and Mapping Police Violence (2). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Aurora Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2023. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument7
Hands, fists or feet63
Other weapon12
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950030
20010030
20020031
20030051
20040020
20050040
20060021
20071151
20080021
20090010
20100130
20120030
20130040
20140211
20150114
20160120
20170040
20180010
20190011
20200021
20220010
202301100

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$13,833Original acquisition value
39Line items received
1994–2014Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter16$10,1052014-09-23
Pistol, 40cal, Glock Gen 38$2,5602013-09-19
Pistol,Caliber .45,Automatic11$6462012-01-09
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter3$4142012-01-20
Shotgun,12 Gage,Riot Type1$1081999-01-28

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Lawrence

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MO0550100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.