PoliceCensus

Home / States / Minnesota / Woodbury Police Department

Woodbury Police Department

City agency in Washington, Minnesota, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
MN0821100
Type
City
County
Washington
State
Minnesota (MN)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-10-01
Location
45.0379, -92.8901

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 81,929.

80Sworn officers
14Civilian staff
1.15Employees per 1,000 people
81,929Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025801481,9291.15
2024661380,9400.98
2023681280,1531.00
2022671178,5310.99
2021681975,5771.15
2020681174,1101.07
2019771272,5271.23
2018721270,9001.18
2017691369,9781.17
2016671269,0321.14
2015691068,0011.16
2014671066,5391.16

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Woodbury Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12372875.7%
202512613760.7%
202412806378.8%
202312523873.1%
202212805366.3%
202112854654.1%
202012723751.4%
201912472655.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1263130047.5%
20251294435737.8%
20241296434435.7%
2023121,06128526.9%
2022121,19418315.3%
2021121,45224917.1%
2020121,53439725.9%
2019121,53637424.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MN0821100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Woodbury Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12993
2025121,249
2024121,262
2023121,111
202212818
202112817
2020121,123
2019121,494

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MN0821100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Woodbury Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20241
20223
20213
20203
20192
20181
20131
20083
20072
20051
20047
20032
20022
20011
20003
19991
19982
19972
19951
19911
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American21
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-White2

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MN0821100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

5 people have died during an encounter with Woodbury Police Department between 2000 and 2012, according to the two datasets named below.

5Deaths recorded
6.10Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2012Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot3
Vehicle2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Woodbury Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2012 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet33
Other weapon9
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20120010
20140010
20190001
20220023
20230033
20240071
202501191

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$845,957Original acquisition value
47Line items received
2019–2020Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Image Intensifier,Night Vision31$791,7802020-02-04
Common Laser Rangefinder Set1$26,2362020-05-20
Binocular,Night Vision1$10,2962019-09-24
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms27$5,7082020-06-25
Viewer,Night Vision1$3,6072019-12-03
Illuminator,Infrared10$3,0762019-08-01
Telescope,Articulated3$1,7172019-11-06
Telescope,Straight1$1,3632019-12-19
Optical Sighting And Ranging Equipment1$1,0002019-11-06
Modification Kit,Gun,Weapon16$4102019-09-25
Retainer,Gun Component30$3972019-12-11
Sight,Reflex6$3392020-01-28
Transmitter,Infrared49$292019-10-01

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Washington

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MN0821100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.