PoliceCensus

Home / States / Minnesota / Minneapolis Police Department

Minneapolis Police Department

City agency in Hennepin, Minnesota, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
MN0271100
Type
City
County
Hennepin
State
Minnesota (MN)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
44.9873, -93.2498

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 428,057.

622Sworn officers
298Civilian staff
2.15Employees per 1,000 people
428,057Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025622298428,0572.15
2024577215423,2821.87
2023571189422,3411.80
2022592152421,6901.76
2021648126438,4631.77
2020833141435,1162.24
2019861180431,0162.42
2018849188428,2612.42
2017847187418,9712.47
2016847171416,7512.44
2015831183413,4792.45
2014836149404,4612.44

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Minneapolis Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 123,0511,14137.4%
2025124,2971,84643.0%
2024124,9461,60832.5%
2023124,8041,46530.5%
2022125,2171,42027.2%
2021125,6651,11819.7%
2020125,0911,29425.4%
2019124,0451,23430.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1213,9736985.0%
20251219,3391,0735.5%
20241221,9398824.0%
20231222,4267093.2%
20221222,3716492.9%
20211218,5785332.9%
20201220,0737863.9%
20191219,6381,3256.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MN0271100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Minneapolis Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 126,866
2025128,596
2024127,149
2023127,121
2022126,290
2021126,169
2020128,605
20191212,295

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MN0271100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

35 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Minneapolis Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202535
202436
202330
202216
202134
202027
201932
201823
201731
201638
201530
201432
201339
201222
201143
201047
200959
200828
200745
200528
200436
200343
200250
200173
200046
199966
199848
199758
199652
199544
199178
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American297
Anti-Gay (Male)264
Anti-White261
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)63
Anti-Lesbian (Female)62
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry61
Anti-Hispanic or Latino51
Anti-Jewish46
Anti-Asian43
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)17
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native16
Anti-Other Religion13
Anti-Transgender12
Anti-Heterosexual10
Anti-Catholic8
Anti-Physical Disability8
Anti-Bisexual6
Anti-Multiple Races, Group5
Anti-Arab4
Anti-Mental Disability2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Protestant2
Anti-Female1

15 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MN0271100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

65 people have died during an encounter with Minneapolis Police Department between 2000 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

65Deaths recorded
15.18Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot33
Vehicle22
Tasered4
Medical emergency3
Asphyxiated/Restrained2
Physical Restraint1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (51) and Mapping Police Violence (14). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Minneapolis Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm58
Knife or other cutting instrument32
Hands, fists or feet539
Other weapon332
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19980052
19990031
20052475
2011324731
2012434221
2013224424
2014413322
2015513928
2016123813
2017023726
201810209
2019006518
2020314220
2021673040
202251916
2023904326
2024711519
2025652011

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Federal oversight

The Department of Justice Civil Rights Division has taken the following action against Minneapolis Police Department under 34 U.S.C. § 12601. The case type and document titles below are DOJ’s own words, reproduced without interpretation — see all federal oversight matters on /oversight.

Source: Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Special Litigation Section.

Also policing Hennepin

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MN0271100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.