PoliceCensus

Home / States / Michigan / Lansing Police Department

Lansing Police Department

City agency in Clinton, Eaton, Ingham, Michigan, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2004.

ORI
MI3351900
Type
City
County
Clinton, Eaton, Ingham
State
Michigan (MI)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2004-01-01
Location
42.7337, -84.5526

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 114,787.

186Sworn officers
59Civilian staff
2.13Employees per 1,000 people
114,787Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202518659114,7872.13
202418655111,9652.15
202318355112,5292.12
202219251112,5672.16
202119052117,8652.05
202019951118,6512.11
201920046118,9532.07
201818825117,3801.81
201718825116,3021.83
201618825115,1991.85
201517826114,6941.78
201419229113,9011.94

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Lansing Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1298545446.1%
2025121,53569345.1%
2024121,50971747.5%
2023121,58969343.6%
2022121,44668547.4%
2021121,76270239.8%
2020121,72167939.5%
2019121,33555541.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121,7781287.2%
2025122,4252068.5%
2024122,83832211.3%
2023123,2152838.8%
2022123,0712558.3%
2021122,97341213.9%
2020123,6312216.1%
2019123,3922336.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MI3351900.

Arrests

Arrests made by Lansing Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,294
2025121,936
2024122,081
2023122,089
2022121,872
2021121,786
2020122,077
2019122,130

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MI3351900.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

13 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Lansing Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202513
202410
20232
20222
202111
202010
20194
20182
20175
20162
20155
20146
20135
20125
20104
20094
20085
20079
200615
200523
200417
20036
20022
20018
20002
19991
199415
199220
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American93
Anti-White37
Anti-Gay (Male)21
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry9
Anti-Asian7
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)7
Anti-Jewish7
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)7
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Protestant3
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Physical Disability1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MI3351900.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

10 people have died during an encounter with Lansing Police Department between 2002 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

10Deaths recorded
8.71Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot8
Vehicle2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (6) and Mapping Police Violence (4). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Lansing Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm18
Knife or other cutting instrument22
Hands, fists or feet520
Other weapon73
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950052
199600192
199700263
199800241
19990021
200001222
20011050
20020071
200401136
200500142
200602153
200700164
200810141
200910134
201000154
201111181
201201172
20130070
201401102
20150192
20160081
20171080
201821173
201900102
202022192
202120301
202223297
202343643
202413358
202502293

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1.5mOriginal acquisition value
91Line items received
2011–2026Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Image Intensifier,Night Vision24$726,1052025-04-11
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground3$469,7942024-08-15
Sight,Night Vision Sniperscope10$164,6182024-02-02
Viewer,Night Vision17$83,0852025-05-06
Thermal Imagining Equipment6$18,4002024-02-02
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms22$16,7902024-02-01
Optical Sighting And Ranging Equipment8$4,4402026-01-08
Telescope,Straight6$3,2692025-12-11
Illuminator,Infrared15$1,8002026-04-22
Mount,Viewer15$1,0202025-08-04
Night Vision Equip, Emit, Reflected Rad1$1,0132024-02-01
Eyepiece Assembly,Optical Instrument12$4372026-06-01

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MI3351900. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.