PoliceCensus

Home / States / Michigan / Grayling Police Department

Grayling Police Department

City agency in Crawford, Michigan, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1995.

ORI
MI2044000
Type
City
County
Crawford
State
Michigan (MI)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1995-01-01
Location
44.6802, -84.6111

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 1,974.

6Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
3.04Employees per 1,000 people
1,974Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025601,9743.04
2024601,9783.03
2023601,9493.08
2022001,8650.00
2021601,8413.26
2020511,8483.25
2019801,8334.36
2018611,8373.81
2017801,8304.37
2016801,8364.36
2015701,8273.83
2014701,8593.77

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Grayling Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12200.0%
2025129444.4%
2024122150.0%
2023125360.0%
2022128112.5%
202112300.0%
2020128450.0%
2019128225.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12191789.5%
202512361233.3%
202412201050.0%
20231231929.0%
202212312167.7%
202112851821.2%
202012461021.7%
201912731419.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MI2044000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Grayling Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12103
202512197
202412143
202312137
202212122
202112113
20201274
201912114

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MI2044000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Grayling Police Department for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20221
20131
20111
20041
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2004–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Black or African American1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MI2044000.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Grayling Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2004 and 2023. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet7
Other weapon3
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20040011
20050020
20070010
20110001
20120010
20160010
20190010
20200100
20230001

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Crawford

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MI2044000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.