PoliceCensus

Home / States / Maine / State Police

State Police

State Police agency in Unmapped County, Maine, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
MEMSP0000
Type
State Police
County
Unmapped County
State
Maine (ME)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
44.417, -69.7658

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

335Sworn officers
179Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20253351790—
20243182230—
20232782360—
20222832240—
20213111540—
20202961180—
2019235180—
20183151260—
20173221140—
20163051200—
20153021220—
20143071170—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by State Police in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12393589.7%
202512998282.8%
202412937681.7%
2023121008282.0%
20221210710295.3%
20211212711389.0%
20201213811784.8%
20191216910260.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1226410539.8%
20251255523342.0%
20241257621637.5%
20231256721738.3%
20221273126235.8%
20211294932133.8%
20201283629735.5%
20191286827832.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MEMSP0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by State Police, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 121,315
2025122,292
2024122,039
2023121,965
2022122,038
2021122,209
2020122,359
2019122,879

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MEMSP0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for State Police for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20242
20231
20221
20212
20205
20191
20182
19962
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1996–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American7
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-Transgender1
Anti-White1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MEMSP0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

14 people have died during an encounter with State Police between 2013 and 2022, according to the two datasets named below.

14Deaths recorded
0
2013–2022Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot14

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of State Police assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm9
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet284
Other weapon17
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950060
19960020
19971041
19980050
20000001
20020021
20030050
20041093
200510150
200610120
200710261
200801172
200900101
201011140
201100131
201200102
201300141
20143080
201500111
20160070
20170060
201800100
201900120
20200071
202100110
20220090
20230070
202400141
202500180

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MEMSP0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.