PoliceCensus

Home / States / Maine / Saco Police Department

Saco Police Department

City agency in York, Maine, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2005.

ORI
ME0160400
Type
City
County
York
State
Maine (ME)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2005-01-01
Location
43.4978, -70.447

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 21,229.

33Sworn officers
20Civilian staff
2.50Employees per 1,000 people
21,229Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025332021,2292.50
2024251621,1441.94
2023281521,1032.04
2022301520,9362.15
2021331320,2902.27
2020311620,1332.33
2019331319,9082.31
2018321319,6282.29
2017331119,3322.28
2016321219,1972.29
2015361319,1462.56
2014351318,9742.53

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Saco Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20263 of 122150.0%
2025127228.6%
20241218422.2%
202312251040.0%
202212301136.7%
202112311238.7%
202012241666.7%
20191221838.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20263 of 12491530.6%
2025122164520.8%
2024122343916.7%
2023123025116.9%
2022123197021.9%
2021122265725.2%
2020123035618.5%
2019123016421.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record ME0160400.

Arrests

Arrests made by Saco Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20263 of 12103
202512345
202412420
202312613
202212663
202112506
202012502
201912540

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record ME0160400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Saco Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20221
20206
20194
20182
20173
20166
20155
20145
201210
20114
20104
20092
20083
20061
20053
19982
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1998–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American24
Anti-Gay (Male)12
Anti-Jewish9
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)5
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-White2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record ME0160400.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Saco Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet138
Other weapon8
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950080
199600121
19970050
19980050
19990030
20000050
20010040
20040010
20050010
20060071
20070061
20080070
200900101
20100040
20110091
20120060
201300111
20140061
20150030
20160071
20170080
20180030
20190010
20200020
20210010
20220010
20230010
20250010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$276Original acquisition value
2Line items received
1994–1994Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter2$2761994-10-07

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing York

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record ME0160400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.