PoliceCensus

Home / States / Maryland / Prince George's County Police Department

Prince George's County Police Department

County agency in Prince George'S, Maryland, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
MD0172100
Type
County
County
Prince George'S
State
Maryland (MD)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-05-01
Location
38.8907, -76.8706

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 741,477.

1,343Sworn officers
288Civilian staff
2.20Employees per 1,000 people
741,477Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,343288741,4772.20
20241,379280737,3172.25
20231,423268725,2292.33
20221,444224729,1942.29
20211,471236713,4052.39
20201,535241697,7172.55
20191,551239696,2052.57
20181,632234696,4552.68
20171,625218698,1542.64
20161,675213695,4132.71
20151,699229694,4652.78
20141,697234685,1912.82

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Prince George's County Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1277332341.8%
2025121,96881441.4%
2024122,91096833.3%
2023123,21482525.7%
2022122,91969123.7%
2021122,53267026.5%
2020122,34874231.6%
2019122,02771235.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 126,6974076.1%
20251214,2307095.0%
20241216,8706393.8%
20231218,6265893.2%
20221213,9863622.6%
20211210,5734113.9%
20201210,9536355.8%
20191210,9579018.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MD0172100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Prince George's County Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 121,925
2025124,152
2024123,998
2023123,980
2022123,778
2021123,671
2020125,111
2019128,264

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MD0172100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Prince George's County Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20247
20235
20221
20212
20209
20197
20186
20171
20141
20131
20111
20103
20097
20087
200712
200619
200511
200432
200318
200213
200135
200020
199911
199822
199723
199636
199522
19942
19932
19929
199114
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American163
Anti-White70
Anti-Multiple Races, Group26
Anti-Gay (Male)25
Anti-Jewish14
Anti-Asian12
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)11
Anti-Other Religion9
Anti-Protestant9
Anti-Hispanic or Latino5
Anti-Catholic4
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)4
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Other Christian1

3 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MD0172100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

55 people have died during an encounter with Prince George's County Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

55Deaths recorded
7.42Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot42
Vehicle13

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (36) and Mapping Police Violence (19). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Prince George's County Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm231
Knife or other cutting instrument152
Hands, fists or feet4,100
Other weapon791
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995757839
1996948044
19971157740
19981578844
1999868237
20001297228
2001955418
2002634823
2003944220
2004724121
20051664824
20061655833
2007554822
20081844732
20091255220
2010937931
20111037027
2012635422
2013126325
2014436123
2015232410
201623499
201702638
2018526515
20190473434
202081562841
20216846128
202221428022
20235016025
20248621319
2025361817

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Prince George'S

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MD0172100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.