PoliceCensus

Home / States / Massachusetts / Salem Police Department

Salem Police Department

City agency in Essex, Massachusetts, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2012.

ORI
MA0052800
Type
City
County
Essex
State
Massachusetts (MA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2012-09-01
Location
42.5164, -70.8966

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 46,067.

89Sworn officers
13Civilian staff
2.21Employees per 1,000 people
46,067Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025891346,0672.21
2024911245,9552.24
2023931245,0052.33
2022871345,3452.21
2021851044,1202.15
2020921143,1542.39
2019941043,4432.39
2018971043,6342.45
2017961143,3852.47
2016100642,8882.47
201521543,0900.60
2014891142,8472.33

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Salem Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12351954.3%
202512321959.4%
202412703651.4%
202312865766.3%
202212825465.9%
2021121005757.0%
2020121085651.9%
2019121086055.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 122522911.5%
2025125889215.6%
20241271510414.5%
2023127029814.0%
2022125439216.9%
2021125896611.2%
2020126568012.2%
20191273410314.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MA0052800.

Arrests

Arrests made by Salem Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12305
202512582
202412564
202312577
202212661
202112544
202012502
201912810

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MA0052800.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

6 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Salem Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20256
202410
20236
20224
202122
20208
20198
20184
201711
20165
20157
20144
20131
20122
20112
20102
20074
20069
20002
19981
19971
19951
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Jewish23
Anti-Black or African American22
Anti-Gay (Male)21
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)12
Anti-White7
Anti-Hispanic or Latino6
Anti-Arab5
Anti-Atheism/Agnosticism5
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Heterosexual1

7 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MA0052800.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Salem Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1999 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument3
Hands, fists or feet151
Other weapon31
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19990020
20000050
20010010
20020020
20030030
20040050
20050040
20060050
20070030
20080010
20100020
20110010
20120051
201401113
20150192
20161063
201701179
201800132
201900132
202000102
20210064
20220071
20230071
202400100
20250031

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$690Original acquisition value
5Line items received
1995–1995Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter5$6901995-05-16

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Essex

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MA0052800. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.