PoliceCensus

Home / States / Massachusetts / Cambridge Police Department

Cambridge Police Department

City agency in Middlesex, Massachusetts, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2007.

ORI
MA0091100
Type
City
County
Middlesex
State
Massachusetts (MA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2007-01-01
Location
42.3652, -71.1054

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 121,634.

267Sworn officers
42Civilian staff
2.54Employees per 1,000 people
121,634Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202526742121,6342.54
202426441120,4472.53
202325838118,9602.49
202226039117,0442.55
202126241121,6992.49
202027141119,9382.60
201926734119,9082.51
201827743114,8812.79
201727833111,7072.78
201627745111,0302.90
201528135110,9532.85
201428135108,2012.92

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Cambridge Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1227613749.6%
20251253026950.8%
20241252622943.5%
20231257022439.3%
20221247416534.8%
20211237215441.4%
20201234116749.0%
20191233413941.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121,54922814.7%
2025123,16360019.0%
2024123,20135411.1%
2023122,8582137.5%
2022122,6361525.8%
2021122,3681506.3%
2020122,2101677.6%
2019121,99120510.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MA0091100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Cambridge Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12777
2025121,872
2024121,359
2023121,126
202212912
202112933
202012871
2019121,119

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MA0091100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

31 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Cambridge Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202531
202434
202355
202248
202135
202015
201918
201816
20178
201625
201519
201413
201313
201210
201117
20107
200911
20084
200710
20062
20051
20033
200212
20019
200011
199912
19983
19978
19968
19955
199211
19914
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American152
Anti-Jewish61
Anti-Gay (Male)55
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry30
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)26
Anti-Asian25
Anti-White25
Anti-Hispanic or Latino17
Anti-Arab12
Anti-Lesbian (Female)11
Anti-Transgender11
Anti-Other Religion7
Anti-Catholic5
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Mental Disability4
Anti-Hindu3
Anti-Female2
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming2
Anti-Other Christian2
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Protestant1

19 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MA0091100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Cambridge Police Department between 2002 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
1.64Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (1) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Cambridge Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument18
Hands, fists or feet301
Other weapon159
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995021711
199602198
19970098
19980010
19990043
20000085
20010074
20020121
20030061
20040044
20050063
200600100
20140032
201500128
20160082
2017001011
2018001010
20190389
20200094
20210050
202200101
20230297
2024002618
2025089839

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Middlesex

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MA0091100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.