PoliceCensus

Home / States / Louisiana / New Orleans Police Department

New Orleans Police Department

City agency in Orleans, Louisiana, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
LANPD0000
Type
City
County
Orleans
State
Louisiana (LA)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
29.9602, -90.0921

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. New Orleans Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 360,272.

906Sworn officers
292Civilian staff
3.33Employees per 1,000 people
360,272Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025906292360,2723.33
2024931328361,8023.48
2023910297364,1973.31
2022945199370,1283.09
20191,154294394,4983.67
20181,209248396,3743.68
20171,101335397,4473.61
20161,171232397,2083.53
20131,210232377,0223.82
20121,271242362,8744.17
20111,349260346,9744.64
20101,452263343,8294.99

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by New Orleans Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025Not reported
2024Not reported
20231214,694
20221213,822
20211216,580
20201217,686
20191227,751

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record LANPD0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

5 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for New Orleans Police Department for 2020, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20205
20195
20182
20171
20165
20155
20143
20138
20122
20074
20051
20048
20031
20022
19982
19971
19961
19948
199315
19928
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2020
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)35
Anti-Black or African American15
Anti-White12
Anti-Jewish11
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-Physical Disability1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record LANPD0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

70 people have died during an encounter with New Orleans Police Department between 2000 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

70Deaths recorded
19.43Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot55
Vehicle12
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Burned/Smoke inhalation1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (57) and Mapping Police Violence (13). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of New Orleans Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2020. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm105
Knife or other cutting instrument21
Hands, fists or feet797
Other weapon90
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19951424711
19961725710
199792545
199872552
199900532
200002502
200150394
200200351
200300303
200401413
20111034610
201272458
2013100467
201431325
201540184
201610331
201770341
201811344
201951223
202052264

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$2,187Original acquisition value
8Line items received
2003–2012Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter3$1,4972012-07-09
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter5$6902003-07-17

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Federal oversight

The Department of Justice Civil Rights Division has taken the following action against New Orleans Police Department under 34 U.S.C. § 12601. The case type and document titles below are DOJ’s own words, reproduced without interpretation — see all federal oversight matters on /oversight.

Source: Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Special Litigation Section.

Also policing Orleans

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record LANPD0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.