PoliceCensus

Home / States / Kentucky / Paris Police Department

Paris Police Department

City agency in Bourbon, Kentucky, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2009.

ORI
KY0090100
Type
City
County
Bourbon
State
Kentucky (KY)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2009-01-01
Location
38.2117, -84.2516

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 10,183.

23Sworn officers
11Civilian staff
3.34Employees per 1,000 people
10,183Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025231110,1833.34
202232310,1743.44
20192329,8792.53
20172219,8452.34
20162219,8832.33
20152629,7472.87
20142629,7542.87
20132539,7522.87
20122528,5803.15
20112528,6123.14
20102128,5532.69
20092229,2972.58

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Paris Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 124250.0%
202512221463.6%
20241214642.9%
202312261661.5%
20221211763.6%
20211215640.0%
20201220945.0%
20191217741.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 126657.6%
2025121251310.4%
202412821619.5%
2023121373021.9%
2022121242318.5%
2021121672716.2%
2020121481912.8%
2019122044220.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record KY0090100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Paris Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12246
202512335
202412447
202312706
202212611
202112624
202012508
201912695

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record KY0090100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Paris Police Department for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20241
20211
20201
20183
20173
20161
20151
20141
20131
20121
20112
20071
20051
19941
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American6
Anti-Hispanic or Latino4
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-White1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record KY0090100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Paris Police Department between 2012 and 2012, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
9.82Per 100,000 people policed
2012–2012Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Paris Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2004 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet94
Other weapon16
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20040141
20051041
20091070
20100021
20110041
20120052
20130060
20140030
20150010
20160022
20170030
20180021
20190010
20200021
20210021
20220061
202300113
202400220
20251071

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$132,832Original acquisition value
41Line items received
1993–2018Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Sight,Night Vision Sniperscope12$121,2002018-06-19
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter18$8,9822008-06-25
Firing Device,Non-Lethal8$1,1072018-07-10
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter8$1,1041993-10-20
Sight,Reflex28$3392018-06-06
Night Vision Equip, Emit, Reflected Rad1$1001998-05-07

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Bourbon

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record KY0090100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.