PoliceCensus

Home / States / Kentucky / Covington Police Department

Covington Police Department

City agency in Kenton, Kentucky, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2009.

ORI
KY0590100
Type
City
County
Kenton
State
Kentucky (KY)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2009-01-01
Location
38.9305, -84.5335

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 41,781.

108Sworn officers
10Civilian staff
2.82Employees per 1,000 people
41,781Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251081041,7812.82
20241071140,9842.88
20231111140,9672.98
20211092240,2983.25
20201101140,3243.00
20191101140,3503.00
20181111140,4483.02
2017108840,8452.84
2016108841,0942.82
2015105741,0562.73
2014107841,0722.80
20131051540,7662.94

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Covington Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12653553.8%
2025121216553.7%
2024121226049.2%
2023121244939.5%
2022121085046.3%
2021121406345.0%
2020121589358.9%
2019121929449.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 123283911.9%
2025125857713.2%
2024126848312.1%
2023127847910.1%
202212722679.3%
2021127479713.0%
2020121,07014513.6%
2019121,18114712.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record KY0590100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Covington Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 121,813
2025123,147
2024123,616
2023124,129
2022123,923
2021124,373
2020124,580
2019125,963

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record KY0590100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

7 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Covington Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20257
202410
20231
20221
20212
20203
20198
20187
20175
201610
20155
20146
20139
20126
20117
201012
20099
20081
20074
20065
20051
20043
20036
20026
20016
20003
19992
19988
19979
199629
199513
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American73
Anti-White43
Anti-Hispanic or Latino26
Anti-Gay (Male)19
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)7
Anti-Multiple Races, Group5
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Jewish3
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Hindu1
Anti-Other Christian1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record KY0590100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

7 people have died during an encounter with Covington Police Department between 2003 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

7Deaths recorded
16.75Per 100,000 people policed
2003–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot5
Tasered2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (4) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Covington Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm4
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet306
Other weapon46
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950070
19961092
200900155
20100094
201100160
20121150
20130090
201400101
20151082
20160072
201700224
201800185
201900195
202000143
202101241
202200231
202300224
202410346
202500351

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$451,664Original acquisition value
53Line items received
2013–2015Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$412,0002013-08-28
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter50$37,4502014-11-19
Firing Device,Non-Lethal2$2,2142015-04-07

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Kenton

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record KY0590100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.