PoliceCensus

Home / States / Kansas / Harvey County Sheriff's Office

Harvey County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Harvey, Kansas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
KS0400000
Type
County
County
Harvey
State
Kansas (KS)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-01-01
Location
38.0511, -97.3446

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 5,428.

22Sworn officers
2Civilian staff
4.42Employees per 1,000 people
5,428Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20252225,4284.42
20242325,7224.37
20232225,5034.36
202223245,4568.61
20212225,6584.24
20202325,4024.63
20192325,3544.67
20182125,3784.28
20172325,4874.56
20161925,3413.93
20152045,4184.43
201419215,4037.40

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Harvey County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1214750.0%
20251211763.6%
20241213861.5%
20231211545.5%
20221212541.7%
20211218738.9%
202012221359.1%
20191213753.8%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 129111.1%
20251216318.8%
2024122800.0%
20231249612.2%
2022126534.6%
20211258610.3%
2020125123.9%
2019122827.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record KS0400000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Harvey County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12197
202512224
202412185
202312158
202212130
202112170
202012191
201912144

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record KS0400000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Harvey County Sheriff's Office for 2006, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20061
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2006
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record KS0400000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Harvey County Sheriff's Office between 2007 and 2016, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
36.85Per 100,000 people policed
2007–2016Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (1) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Also policing Harvey

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record KS0400000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.