PoliceCensus

Home / States / Kansas / Derby Police Department

Derby Police Department

City agency in Sedgwick, Kansas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
KS0870100
Type
City
County
Sedgwick
State
Kansas (KS)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-01-01
Location
37.5457, -97.2702

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 26,831.

50Sworn officers
10Civilian staff
2.24Employees per 1,000 people
26,831Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025501026,8312.24
2024491026,4092.23
2023481026,0552.23
2021491025,4252.32
202048925,2292.26
2019431025,0122.12
2018451023,8422.31
2017461023,8212.35
2016451023,7082.32
201546923,4302.35
2014461023,1952.41
2013461023,1042.42

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Derby Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1211100.0%
20255 of 1200—
20242 of 1200—
20238 of 1215746.7%
202212591322.0%
202112431534.9%
202012321237.5%
20191226934.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1212216.7%
20255 of 1210220.0%
20242 of 12400.0%
20238 of 121012726.7%
20221256715627.5%
20211251313325.9%
20201248111123.1%
2019124104310.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record KS0870100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Derby Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20261 of 1220
20255 of 1213
20242 of 120
20238 of 12183
202212595
202112532
202012511
201912406

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record KS0870100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Derby Police Department for 2021, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20211
20201
20151
20122
20111
20062
19921
19911
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2021
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American6
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record KS0870100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Derby Police Department between 2005 and 2013, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
7.45Per 100,000 people policed
2005–2013Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Drowned1
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Derby Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2001 and 2020. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet84
Other weapon18
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20010002
20020081
20030030
200400101
20050120
20060040
20070052
20080042
20090040
20100081
20110011
20120010
20130022
20140020
20150010
20160070
20170150
20181063
20190031
20200082

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Sedgwick

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record KS0870100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.